Skip to content

Book Sale Shoppesville Branch

May 22, 2009

I’ve been baaad in updating this blog, although that could be because I don’t have a lot of fresh acquisitions this late (and we can blame work here too :D). The bookstores have a drought of new titles and I only realized lately why that could be the case.

(It really felt weird going home from a Fully Booked 20% off sale empty-handed)

So this recent, I’ve been finding comfort through Book Sale, good ‘ol Book Sale, where it isn’t a guilt to splurge for (a lot of) experimental titles. A few weeks ago, I managed to find a Jeffrey Ford book in Book Sale North Edsa, “The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque”. I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about the author so it was quite an awesome find (as he’s not available in mainstream stores….yet!) It’s quite reminiscent of buying “Good Omens” and “Stardust” when Neil Gaiman was just emerging in the market through his Sandman novels. Last Sunday, I visited the Shoppesville branch (in Greenhills Shopping Center). It actually ranks among the least favorite branches to me (to be followed by Megamall branch) but boy did I just take that back. I happened to visit because my mom and my sister were shopping for pambahay clothes and I’m easily bored and impatient like that. I ended up collecting like a stack of books up to my chin that a personnel approached me (and was a little confused how to help me. I can’t blame him, there are no reading nooks in Book Sales so I have to make do with the Children section while no one was around it). I settled with four books:

  • The City of Fallen Angels by John Berendt – a non-fiction book about Venice. I’m not too fond of non-fiction books but…Venice! Pretty cover! I might learn some things new!
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman – which I was telling myself NOT to buy in National Book Store because I know it’s gonna be out in Book Sale. I also have the movie ready!
  • An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle – I remember loving “A Wrinkle in Time” as a child but I’ve forgotten why. So I’m completing the series before re-reading.
  • The Last Empress by Anchee Min – Women, China, and Power! And pretty cover. That always helps.

There are also LOADS of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in that branch (same with the North Edsa branch) in good condition. People should really take the chance to go out and get them (I’ve been loud and obnoxious and was going, “GOSH I REALLY WANT TO BUY MORE OF THESE” so maybe others can take a hint and try *eyeshift*). I wish I could buy them all so I could give them as gifts.

Speaking of Jonathan Strange, I’ve been reading another gigantic book. I’m finally halfway after…well, a month. It’s Gordon Dahlquist’s The Glass Book and the Dream Eaters and it’s made of pure Victorian Adventure awesome. I still wish I bought the paperback edition instead, even if it’s not on sale. The hardbound edition is bigger than me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

